Lake Washington High baseball squad wins Arizona tournament

Wood breaks school home-run record.

Lake Washington High’s baseballers traveled to Arizona last Wednesday through Sunday and hammered out four victories against local squads to win the 41st annual Morenci Lions Invitational.

The Kangs, who were 7-0 and atop the 3A KingCo Conference and 14-1 overall at press time, played all-around solid ball in Arizona over spring break, said head coach Derek Bingham. He feels they’re in a good spot heading into their last five league games with the playoffs on the horizon.

Team LW flew into Arizona on Wednesday and winged it back home on Sunday morning. The Kangs toured the University of Arizona and the copper mines in Morenci when they weren’t shredding on the baseball diamond.

“It was a cool experience there for the kids,” Bingham said. “It was a good bonding experience, and our kids proved to be mature beyond my belief.”

The Kangs first notched an 11-3 win over St. John’s on April 11 behind the bats of Nation Wood (a double and three RBIs), Jordan Sacks (a double and two RBIs) and Torin Montgomery (a single and two RBIs). Jose Vizcarra earned the victory with seven strikeouts.

On day two, Wood homered, Travis Lee had two hits and Ricky Koishida had two RBIs in a Kangs’ 7-0 win over Safford. Lane Kraabel got the win with 10 strikeouts.

In a 17-1 victory over Thatcher on April 13, Lee and Wood homered and had three hits each; they combined for nine RBIs. Oliver Laufman notched the win with seven strikeouts.

To close out the tourney on April 13, LW beat Morenci, 15-1, bolstered by four hits and three RBIs from Koishida, two hits — including a homer — by Montgomery, two doubles from I-Ly Hsue and two hits apiece from Dylan Kennedy and Sacks. On the pitching front, Andrew Urritia earned the win.

Tournament most valuable player Wood broke the school record for homers in the Arizona games, blasting his fifth and sixth of the season. The former record was five.

Also earning all-tournament honors with Wood were Lee, Koishida and Kraabel.