Houghton Council selects pro/con committees

The Houghton Community Council selected individuals June 22 to serve on the “pro” and “con” statement committees for the November General Election ballot measure on whether the Houghton Community Council will continue to exist. The “pro” committee members include Carl Bryant, Carol Buckingham and Scott Mullet. The “con” committee members are John Brightbill and Doug Jacobson. Each committee’s respective statement will appear in the voter pamphlet. The committees’ statements are due to King County Elections on Aug. 19. 

The Houghton Community Council consists of seven members, elected every four years from the area formerly designated as the Town of Houghton, which joined with Kirkland in August 1968. This body exercises both advisory and approval authority over most matters related to zoning regulations and land use within the Houghton area. No other board or commission in the city exercises jurisdictional authority. 

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates