Kirkland youth basketball “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award” recipients announced

City of Kirkland - Contributed art
City of Kirkland
— image credit: Contributed art

In memory of Stephen (Steve) Hale, the city of Kirkland’s parks superintendent from 1956 to 1961 and “founding father” of the city’s peewee basketball program, local youth were recently honored with the “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award.” City of Kirkland Youth Basketball League coaches and teammates selected players to receive the Award. Award recipients exemplified outstanding sportsmanship, team play and a positive attitude throughout the 2014 basketball season. The 2014 recipients include:

• Luke Charvet

• Ellie Sivesind

• Zoe Luzama

• Jack Suk

• Andrew Dahlman-Oeth

• Quincy Yoshida

• Pritika Vipin

• Tyler Sloan

• Ben McKay

• Nathan Ghilarducci

• Rosa Smith

• Sophie McDaniel

• Guillo Carlson

• Elliott Nichols

• “Black Mambas” Team

• Eli Main

• Cole Hopkins

Hale’s belief in outstanding sportsmanship continues to impact the youth today. Hale also served as coach, umpire, and referee for many sports and group of all ages for 25 years in Kirkland. He developed and expanded youth sports in Kirkland and improved facilities by fostering volunteerism. Hale emphasized teamwork, fundamentals, self-development, hustle, and above all fun and outstanding sportsmanship.

For more information about youth recreation programs, visit

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates